Test Harness

Could the network connection problems be isolated and repeatable by building a test harness to run on the network code instead of the game.

The test harness would capture behavior and be configurable with packetloss and packet latency. Then instances of the game with this test harness could be run on a LAN of virtual machines.

This may be an ignorant suggestion, just trying to help.

The connection problems probably stem from routing and connection stability problems. Your idea is good for debugging pure software problems, but this is most likely not the (main) issue here.

A test harness can emulate network conditions. Sophisticated tools support mixing routing protocols just for this purpose. This is what network emulation tools do.

That said, I'm not an expert and this may be an ignorant suggestion. I just didn't want to be misunderstood.

I don't think it's so easy. It would need to be fully automated and reliable.
Assuming we find someone who automates setting up 2 windows VM with a functional FAF. (That seems realistic, but I have no skills to do this). And also make it work with an automatically provisioned lobby server or potentially the test server.

How do you come past the login? You need to login through the browser.
How do you select a game? How do you operate the FAF client?

Assuming we solve these issues:
How do we collect the results? How do we know if the game is over? How do we know if the game succeeded without a player dropping?

I am not aware of any tools that can do this. If someone shows up and does it, great. I am not aware we have someone who has the skills to do that in the dev team.

"Nerds have a really complicated relationship with change: Change is awesome when WE'RE the ones doing it. As soon as change is coming from outside of us it becomes untrustworthy and it threatens what we think of is the familiar."
ā€“ Benno Rice