Simspeed: Revive work on modifying luajit to work with FAF

Asking to revive a dead project again: Can we maybe ask Jeff Petkau on the changes they did on the lua vm clone and potentially replicate those?

This would be absolutely amazing. In our testing (non game related) we found luajit to perform at-least 2x faster. In many of our benchmarks it was 4x as fast (although this varied and was specific to areas that luajit did well).

x86 (32bit) luajit was slightly worse than x64 but the difference wasnt much (~10%)

You don’t need to ask anybody, I’ve already recreated the major changes: https://github.com/FAForever/lua-lang

@Askaholic

1. Is lua-lang in use for anything currently?

Looking through git the only thing I could find was the unit testing (syntax only?).

1. What method was used to detirmine the changes (from GPG) to lua. Was it just known language changes?

The reason I ask is because I've got some experience with binary patching and (more specifically) in-memory binary patching. It's been about 15 years but I did do some work in that area in the past.

Patching in luajit could begin first by patching memory patching in an in-house build of lua (interpreter) that is supposedly compatible (as a PoC).

It’s currently being used to run a small number of unit tests on the main game repo.

I tried to write it so that each git commit more or less corresponds to one language change to help document what is touched by each feature. Mostly I started with the language features that have been empirically discovered by the modding community but I also used some knowledge that we have about the binary itself. I know there are still some missing changes which I have documented in the GitHub issues, and as of yet I have not tested if the lua byte code produced by the FAF lua is identical to that produced by the binary. Mostly this is due to time constraints and I just got to a point where it was sufficient for running the unit tests I wanted to write.