About custom decals and stratums

This is a blog post on where you can find the current decals, how you could potentially edit these decals and how to add them back into your map. Take note that I am no designer, hence the 'edits' will be relatively simple.

This blog is also useful for adding custom stratums and, in the near future when it is supported, custom props.

We'll go through the steps with a case study for the one of the missions of the Nomad campaign.

Interesting sources
A list of sources that you can use as inspiration for new decals, stratums and textures in general.

A video tutorial by @Morax about the same topic, with the focus on stratums instead of decals:

Tools

If you cannot afford Photoshop then you can use Gimp as an alternative. Gimp supports the .dds format used by Supreme Commander by default.

Take note that Supreme Commander also supports the .png format by default.

The case
One of the nomad maps have lava in them. The map doesn't use the default stratum textures for lava, hence creating cracks like in Haven Reef is rather difficult.

The expected results:
alt text

The current results:
alt text

As you can see the colors do not match as nicely as one would like. Therefore we decide to make a small but evident change to the textures.

Where to find the original decals of Supreme Commander
The game itself typically resides inside your Steam folder, from there you can go to:

• <path-to-steam>\Steam\steamapps\common\Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\gamedata\environment.scd
  • <path-to-installation-folder>\Supreme Commander Forged Alliance\gamedata\environment.scd

Copy the file and change its extension from .scd to .zip. Extract the .zip file you just 'created' - the contents contain all the stratum textures of the game, nicely organised per theme.

The files we need for this case study are:

• env\Lava\Decals\LAV_Lava_line_albedo.dds
  • env\Lava\Decals\LAV_Lava_line_end_albedo.dds
  • env\Lava\Decals\LAV_Lava_line_end2_albedo.dds